Marriage Equality

Federal Law

There are, as of 2004, 1,138 federal provisions in which marital status is a factor in determining or receiving benefits, rights and privileges. The General Accounting Office has organized these into the following categories and listed the programs, benefits and entitlements of each (downloadable as a PDF; go to pages 16-18):

Social Security and Related ProgramsHousing and Food Stamps
Veterans’ Benefits
Federal Civilian and Military Service Benefits
Employment Benefits and Related Statutory Provisions
Immigration, Naturalization and Aliens
Indians (Native Americans)
Trade, Commerce, and Intellectual Property
Financial Disclosure and Conflict of Interest
Crimes and Family Violence
Loans, Guarantees and Payments in Agriculture
Federal Natural Resources and Related Provisions
Miscellaneous Statutory Provisions

Comments are closed.